Comic Girls Episode 4 – Anime QandA Review

An Anime QandA review for Comic Girls Episode 4.

What’s the show? Comic Girls, Episode 4.

You’re still managing to find enough to say about this ‘cute girls doing cute things’ show to do a weekly blog about it, huh? Yup, this week especially!

Oh, something interesting happen? I guess that depends on your definition of ‘interesting’ but yes, I would say that.

Well go on then… So Ruki, our erotic mangaka is having to pull all-nighters to reach the deadline on completing her manuscripts, which because she’s so tired leads to some hilarious misunderstandings at school, her classmates and teachers misconstruing her tired demeanour for something more sexually suggestive.

She just needed a nap.

How do you misconstrue tiredness for suggestiveness? Because… her… tiredness… makes her sound… like she’s… being SEDUCTIVE. Trust me, it works in the episode. Anyway, concerned that she’s not going to make her deadline without completely crashing out the other 3 girls try to help her out, which proves, um… more difficult than expected for the easily flustered Kaos-chan, as she’s subjected to lewd imagery en-masse—also to much hilarity.

The anime did the censoring for me.

And after that? They finally get the manuscript completed on time, it’s published in stores and Ruki can finally relax. Except her publisher has booked her in for an in-person signing event! Her very first one, and what’s worse, her pen-name (which translates to Big-Boobies Himeko) is more than a bit of an exaggeration as she’s lucky if she’s even a B-cup! Which obviously adds to her anxieties about what her fans expect of her in real life persona.

If you can’t think straight try thinking gay!

Then what happens? The girl’s try and reassure her as best they can but Ririka the dorm mother who comes to the rescue with some wise words and a bit of a makeover that boosts Ruki’s self-confidence and gives her a more mature appearance!

She reminds me of Mio from K-On!

So where’s the ‘interesting’ part? I’m getting to that! Geez. So, Ruki holds the signing at the Shinjuku Animate branch and is inundated with love and support from her fans, it’s a genuinely heartwarming scene that actually brought a tear or two to my eye, something I didn’t expect from this series—or at least not this early on. It’s just so utterly sincere and sweet!

Uh-huh, guess you had to be there… You can be snide all you want but I really appreciated this episode. Not only did it have the aforementioned scene that helped boost Ruki’s failing self-esteem. But it also had some really insightful things to say about how people perceive us and the fear of putting your work out for public consumption, even if you’re afraid of what people will label you as because of the content within.

They’re so embarrassed!

So the anime’s still on track? If anything I’m even happier about this show because it’s proven itself to have more depth than I perhaps initially gave it credit for, here’s hoping it’ll keep it up! Not that previous weeks weren’t fun and all it’s just nice to have something a bit more substantial and emotional in a cgdct anime series. There is something else though…

This anime is gorgeous btw.

What is it? I don’t know if I’m making something out of nothing but I feel like it probably helps the fact that the manga for this series is written by a 30+ year old woman. Seems like a lot of my favourite cgdct shows of late are written by women who are quite a bit older than their main characters… It seems to imbue these shows slight shows with a sense of longing nostalgia and wizened reverence that I can totally get into. I don’t know, just a thought I had. Regardless I’m looking forward to watching more of this show as it comes!

You don’t get that kind of advice in most cgdct anime!

If you liked my post and want to support my content, please consider supporting my Patreon page, or donating by buying me a coffee on Ko-fi!

patreon

kofi2

Author: Cactus Matt

I love anime and more recently manga too. What else do I need to write here?

5 thoughts on “Comic Girls Episode 4 – Anime QandA Review”

Leave a comment